My favourite books 19: The Diary of a Nobody

First published episodically in Punch, 1892.  This edition, Penguin 1975

This really needs no introduction – I have several ancient anthologies of humour which fail to crack a smile from front to back, but Diary of a Nobody remains a classic, sending up ponderous Victorian suburbia with knowing wit.

Penguin kept this mid-60s cover treatment going for years after the rest of the Modern Classics line had moved on – it’s simple and effective, and an aesthetic delight.

One Comment on “My favourite books 19: The Diary of a Nobody”

  1. Hello!

    I’m delighted you enjoyed my Great Great Grandfather’s modest diary.

    I have tried to honour his memory with one of my own. I think it’s a little more polished than his attempt, in some ways. Cummings surprised me by drawing some pictures to accompany it. The one of Jimmy Padge is an uncanny likeness.

    Yours,

    Charles Pooter